gurl not found!

http 404g – the gurl cannot be found. the gurl you are looking for might be temporarily unavailable.

[Review] Skinfood Black Sugar Mask, Wash off

Skinfood Black Sugar Mask 1

Skinfood Black Sugar Mask
Wash off, 100g

Description Black sugar mask with rich minerals and vitamin to provide luster and smoothness to skin.
Usage Instructions After cleansing, gently massage over wet face. Avoid eye area. Rinse off after 10-15min.
Price (I paid for) S$8.90

Effectiveness Rating (Out of 10, per property)

Property Rating Remarks/ Results
Claim 1: Provide luster to skin 6/10 As with most scrubs, there is visible brightening effect since dead skin is removed. But it doesn’t last.
Claim 2: Provide smoothness to skin 9/10 Very smooth skin unless there are pimples brewing underneath the skin.
Texture 7/10 Coarse, not liquid at all. But melts quickly when mixed with water and body heat.
Smell 10/10 This is by far the yummiest smelling mask ever! It’s like a cola candy smell that makes me super tempted to lick it!
Packaging 6/10 Comes in a tub which means I need to scoop it out each time with a spatula. But what else can such a product come in, right?
Additional Result: Skin softness 8/10 Skin feels very soft, though slightly taut, after washing off.

Overall Rating & Thoughts
76.7%

Below 50% FAIL
♥♥ 50% to 65% Lukewarm, probably won’t buy again.
♥♥♥ 66% to 75% Not bad, but easily replaceable.
♥♥♥♥ 76% to 85% Nice, worth repurchasing.
♥♥♥♥♥ 86% to 100% Excellent! Must have!

Yes, it’s a nice mask and worth repurchasing. In fact, I did! I’ve got a spare tub in my inventory in case I end up running out and not being able to get a new one in time. I use this mask 2-3 times weekly and have used it for 1 month now.

Because the sugar granules are coarse, I do mix it with a little water, just so it’s easier to spread the mask around my face. Rubbing it into skin in this state will scratch your face raw, so just push it around till face is covered.

Oh, I also found a way to make this into a 2-step mask because it seems to yield better results for me.

Step 1: Apply as per stated, using minimal water (damp face or hands will do) to spread the mask. Leave on for 8-10min. This lets the mask melt further with our body heat.

Step 2: Wet hands after the initial 8-10min, then massage the mask that is already on your face. This further melts the sugar granules and the mask becomes a thick, clear, caramel-coloured liquid with no more coarseness. Leave on for 5-7min. I find this reminds me of a honey mask.

The results I found doing this mask in 2 steps: By the time I proceed to Step 2, this mask becomes a much friendlier scrub that is really effective for exfoliating dead skin and flakiness. It also makes the skin softer. By letting the molten sugar stay on my face afterwards, I find it calms the skin after the scrub. Also, I’d like to think that this allows the rich minerals and vitamins mentioned in the description to soak in better than when the sugar granules are still big and coarse in Step 1.

Caution: Do Not Consume.

Share your thoughts, questions, & reviews with me!

Information

This entry was posted on July 9, 2012 by in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , .
July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

  • 44,763

Archives

Categories

Knowledge Sharing

Used a product (that I reviewed) before?
Share your views and how it worked out for you! I will be most happy to feature your reviews in my posts.

Have more questions about the products I reviewed?
Ask in comments and I will try my best to answer them! I respond pretty quick to all comments, like within a day or two (unless I'm travelling of course)!

Enter your email and join me on my adventures!

