gurl not found!

http 404g – the gurl cannot be found. the gurl you are looking for might be temporarily unavailable.

[Review] Missha Super Aqua Cell Renew Snail Cream & Sleeping Mask

These two products, when used together, really made a huge difference to my skin. I have been using these for close to a month now (2-3 times daily, depending if I’m back home on weekends early). There are many proven benefits of snail mucin found online so I shall skip that part of why it’s so awesome.

By the way, I believe in reviewing products after I have used it for a while, unless of course, I have an instant outbreak within 1-2 usage. Otherwise, I don’t find it’s justified to make a decision or claim within too short a period.

Super Aqua Cell Renew Snail Sleeping Mask
I started off with the sleeping mask because I was looking for 1. a snail mucin product, 2. something to look after my skin while I sleep. When one is sleeping, it is also when one’s body is regenerating cells. Within a couple of hours of research and reading reviews, I made up my mind to give Missha’s Super Aqua Cell Renew Snail Sleeping Mask a shot. The reasons: point 1 & 2 above, plus it says cell renew. So I headed down to the store and got the full tube of 110ml at $31.29 (orig. $39.90) after a discount (20% I think). The texture is smooth and it smells like a cucumber cream, very subtle and I quite like it! Thank goodness too, because the thought of snail mucus on my face isn’t all that pleasant!

This mask is to be used after your daily skin care regime. Well, the SA at Missha did tell me to use this 2-3 times a week but I thought hey, it’s a sleeping mask right? I sleep nightly, so..yeah. Well, not only did it not cause break outs, it made me so happy with my skin within 1.5 weeks that I headed down to Missha and got the cream too!

Let me try and describe the results of this sleeping mask. After application, it’s absorbed very well. Doesn’t leave any residue (more like a sleeping cream than what you perceive a mask to be) and I find that it locks in whatever products I used before it, such that my skin gets the full benefits of my other creams and serums. The next morning, I wake up and of course my skin is oily (I have huge pores and oily skin to start with). But the difference is, in the past, my skin was oily but underneath the oil, there are flakes of dry skin! It’s just baffling. I guess that is what combination skin is about? Oil+flakes. Ughs. With this mask, my skin is PLUMPED and SUPPLE with NO flakes. And because it plumps up my skin, my pores are less obvious compared to my under-moisturized skin before. I wash my face with my daily cleanser and I’m like omg, why can’t my skin look like that for the rest of the day?

Super Aqua Cell Renew Snail Cream
So I went down to the store a second time and this time, GSS was on. The discount was (25%+5% rebate on next purchase). The cream cost me $44.72 (orig. $55.90) if I recall right. It comes with a 20ml travel size sleeping mask! Woohoo!

This cream comes in a tub of 47ml and there’s a spatula included so at least I won’t be contaminating the whole tub each time I use it. According to the SA, the sleeping mask contains only 20% snail mucin while the cream contains 70% of “the good stuff”! The cream smells very similar to the mask, subtle cucumber-ish smell, still very pleasant. A little goes a looooong way for me, with this cream. I literally use about a pea-sized amount for my whole face and sometimes there is leftover for my neck (Pea-size referring to the general green peas, not those super-sized any other peas). Once, I over applied and it really didn’t get absorbed even after waiting for 10min. So I use this cream with a very light hand, kind of like applying nail polish, thin first coat, then layer on when necessary. I pat, massage and dab it into my skin when possible (when not rushing for time) rather than rubbing it on my face. I find this helps the cream get into my pores better, and hence absorbed faster.

Naturally, I use this cream with the sleeping mask at night. The SA did tell me to use the cream in the morning and the sleeping mask at night. But again, I’m thinking, if they’re both so good and beneficial, why not use both to maximize the effect right? Thankfully, I didn’t breakout! My skin is in fact calmer and less patchy than before. I have red patchy looking skin on my face because my veins are visible through my skin. So my complexion looks uneven. Coupled with large pores and blackheads and oil and old pimple pigmentation, my skin was really crappy. Plus I like the sun very much and used to avoid sunscreen cos I didn’t like the texture, so yeah, my skin really was one huge mess.

Result after about one month of using these two products: my skin tone is evened out. I haven’t got a zit in nearly two weeks despite using more products and makeup! Skin is much softer and supple. It is much calmer than before and doesn’t get angry red patches from scrubbing or squeezing blackheads for a prolonged period. Any scars and pigmentation also lightened!

So here’s how my skin was before (graphic!):

Here’s how my skin is currently (different lighting, no makeup):

Will I get these again? Hell yeah! It’s my holy grail now. I’m probably gonna stock up before GSS ends!

13 comments on “[Review] Missha Super Aqua Cell Renew Snail Cream & Sleeping Mask

  1. Cherry
    June 15, 2012

    Hi dear, I honestly can’t judge if there’s any difference because there’re so many inconsistences in your before/after pics >< Different lighting, different angle.. I'm also considering if snail cream is suitable for me but your before/after pics is not able to help me decide =X

    • gurl not found
      June 15, 2012

      Hi Cherry, yeah I note the lighting inconsistencies as well. I tried to take the lower half of my face as closely similar as possible, but I was doing it myself so had some difficulty getting exact angle. Still, thanks for the feedback so that the next time I’ll improve on consistencies!

      However, you can see the texture in the before pic on the cheeks area and compare it with the after pic (lower). The bumps are gone. Those bumps were either pimples I squeezed or developing pimples. The snail cream doesn’t have great effect on pimples, I used a pimple cream for those. But it has huge effect on calming and stabilising the skin condition – post-pimple care such as reducing redness and swelling. Surely you can tell the patchy redness and scars/pigmentation are much improved; after all, the pictures are very much zoomed in such that you can already see the pores.

      Nevertheless, if you’re still unsure, you should head over to Missha and try the cream out. I’m sure that would help you make a much more informed choice.

  2. Alice
    August 5, 2012

    Thank you for the review. I just got these and was searching about how to best use them. Although the pictures are different and it’s hard to compare, I can see that your skin is looking much improved. Hope it keeps working for you! I

    • gurl not found
      August 5, 2012

      Thanks! Yeah, the pics were taken at different times under different lighting..my bad about that. Hope u like the snail creams as much as I do! I especially love the sleeping mask. 🙂

  3. shellbell
    December 4, 2012

    I’m so happy you made this review! I’m suffering from acne and large pores and lots of spots from old acne. You’d think the older I get the less problems I will have but the past 2 months I’ve got an outbreak like I’m a teen again! The official MisshaUS web site has a deal right now for $25 on the cream for VIP shoppers. I love their BB cream so I was wondering if I should give this a try. With your review and their price I’m ordering it now. 10Q!!!

    • gurl not found
      December 4, 2012

      So happy you found the review helpful! I’m more in love with the sleeping mask more than the cream. Haha, I’ve moved on from the cream to try other types of moisturisers(after finishing the tub), but I’m on to my second tube of the sleeping mask! I stand by it still, really love the mask. On nights when I’m super lazy and don’t want to spend too much time layering serums and creams, I just slather on the sleeping mask and put pimple cream on spots and I’m done for the night (I even skip toner..*gasp*).

      Would be so glad if you could come back and share how the cream worked out for you! 😀

  4. Urska Juric
    February 3, 2013

    Hello there, which pimple cream do you use? Thanks.

    • gurl not found
      February 3, 2013

      I use the Innisfree Jeju volcanic pore clay mask as a pimple cream for smaller pimples. For bigger issues like cystic ones, I use trusty Oxy 🙂

      • Kim
        February 4, 2013

        Thank you.

  5. milknsky
    April 3, 2013

    Hello! I read your review and wanted to try this cream, but was wondering if your still using this cream? have you had allergic reactions to it or had a big break out because of? Since I’ve heard of other snail creams that after a couple of months use they break out or have allergic reactions. I wanted to know if Missha’s was different.

    • gurl not found
      April 3, 2013

      Hello! I have stopped using the cream cos I wanted to try a moisturizer with rosehip oil. But I am still using the sleeping mask! Finishing my second tube, going on my third tube! I use the sleeping mask every night, a thin layer works very well for me in air-coned room.

      No outbreaks and allergic reactions for me using the mask. The cream didn’t break me out either. Just use the right amt. For me, I figure out the right amount by trial and error for every product. After the first few usage, you will know if its too much (face feels oily, can’t breathe) or too little (face feels tight or barely moisturized).

      • milknsky
        April 3, 2013

        Thanks for the reply and tips! ^_^

  6. wayne
    May 22, 2013

    my wife loves this cream, but i can see why the thought of this cream could be off putting to some people, All i can say is give it a good try, before you judge it,

Share your thoughts, questions, & reviews with me!

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2012 by in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

  • 44,763

Archives

Categories

Knowledge Sharing

Used a product (that I reviewed) before?
Share your views and how it worked out for you! I will be most happy to feature your reviews in my posts.

Have more questions about the products I reviewed?
Ask in comments and I will try my best to answer them! I respond pretty quick to all comments, like within a day or two (unless I'm travelling of course)!

Enter your email and join me on my adventures!

